Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Discussion of Ultimaker's open-source Cura software
Post Reply
User avatar
CismontGuy
Reactions:
Posts: 27
Joined: December 16th, 2020, 12:39 pm
Location: Central Virginia USA
3D Printer(s): Sovol SV03

Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by CismontGuy »

Hello Forum,

I am new to Cura and 3D printing. I would like to know whether there is a way to print out and compare the different settings
that are under all the categories: Quality. Shell. Infill, etc? I use Fusion 360 for my CAM work and we can print
out the CAM settings for different saved jobs so we can compare the speeds and feeds, depth of cut etc from one job to
another.

Thank you,

CismontGuy

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1156
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by Roberts_Clif »

The easiest way I know of would be to save the Profile.curaprofile open with Notepad++ and print.

User avatar
CismontGuy
Reactions:
Posts: 27
Joined: December 16th, 2020, 12:39 pm
Location: Central Virginia USA
3D Printer(s): Sovol SV03

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by CismontGuy »

Thanks. I just gave this a try. Obviously it does show you what the setting are but a little hard to read. Good suggestion, though.
I put the page breaks in to try and sort it out a little...

PK ! :Ã.Š- -
sv01_normal-12mm_12-17-2020[general]

version = 4
name =
Normal-12mm 12-17-2020

definition = fdmprinter


[metadata]
setting_version =
15
type = quality_changes
quality_type =
fast

[values]
adhesion_type =
brim
layer_height = 0.12
layer_
height_0 = 0.2
retraction_combing =
noskin
support_enable =
True
support_type =
buildplate

PK ! P–íê+ + )
sv01_extruder_0_#3_normal-12mm_12-17-2020
[general]
version =
4
name = Normal-12mm 12-17-2020

definition = fdmprinter


[metadata]
position =
0
setting_version = 15
type =
quality_changes
intent_category =
default
quality_type =
fast

[values]
brim_line_count =
5
brim_width =
4.0
infill_line_width =
0.3
infill_sparse_density =
50
multiple_mesh_overlap =
0.12
retraction_hop_enabled =
True
support_infill_rate =
5
support_pattern =
lines
support_wall_count =
1
support_xy_distance_overhang =
0.3
support_z_distance =
0.2
top_bottom_thickness = 1.
0
wall_line_count = 10

zig_zaggify_support = True

PK
! :Ã.Š- -
sv01_normal-12mm_12-17-2020PK
! P–íê+ + ) f sv01_extruder_0_#3_normal-12mm_12-17-2020PK   Ø

User avatar
CismontGuy
Reactions:
Posts: 27
Joined: December 16th, 2020, 12:39 pm
Location: Central Virginia USA
3D Printer(s): Sovol SV03

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by CismontGuy »

Other option is to make screen shots and save. Cismontguy
Test-3-Quality.jpg

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1156
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by Roberts_Clif »

The Screen shots are actually the best, it does take many screen shots sometimes.
This is one reason why I am starting to Use Prusaslicer If I attach a single 3mf project file an you load it all my settings are included.
There is no guess work no question everything you want to show me or I want to show you is included in the 3mf file.
Last edited by Roberts_Clif on December 18th, 2020, 11:45 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
CismontGuy
Reactions:
Posts: 27
Joined: December 16th, 2020, 12:39 pm
Location: Central Virginia USA
3D Printer(s): Sovol SV03

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by CismontGuy »

OK, I will have to look into this. I am just learning Cura, for the first time since last Friday! Not happy with its
chunkiness for adding supports. Have used other slicers for resin/laser sintered 3D printers belonging to a
former employer.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3591
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): I can't name all 14

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by LePaul »

I'm not sure Jaime follows our posts much these days as a dev at Ultimaker...I just had a great meeting with Ultimaker over their Cura Essentials training they are developing.

Like you guys, I would love a formal training program to show me the basics and advanced features of Cura. I know their site has some documentation but given how rapidly the software updates...it can be hard to keep up

nallath
Reactions:
Posts: 267
Joined: February 16th, 2016, 3:12 am
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by nallath »

Some people have recently made plugins that can do this.

Also, the .curapprofile is a zip file. On windows you can just rename it to .zip to find the files inside.

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1156
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Is there a way to print out Cura's setting under Profile?

Post by Roberts_Clif »

That's strange I open mine with Notepad++
curaprofile.jpg
Are we talking about another file.

Post Reply

Return to “Cura”