Questions from a new but experienced printer

Discussion of ANY 3D printing topic you desire!
Stevefury
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Makerbot Mini

Questions from a new but experienced printer

Post by Stevefury »

Title: "Questions from a new but experienced printer".
Please let me explain, and please move this thread if it's in the wrong place.

My question is about 3D printing software and the process.
I've been doing 3D artwork since about 2001 and got a Makerbot Mini in 2015.
I took right to that little work horse and created thousands of prints, mainly robotic parts.
I found the process very easy:
(1) Create the CAD file and export it as a STL file.
(2) Import the STL file into the Makerbot desktop program, set the slicer values within the Makerbot desktop (if needed) and click print.
The information is sent to the printer and it starts.

My little mini workhorse suffered a catastrophic failure last Saturday amidst a very ambitious robotic project.
The power supply failed.

I did a lot of new printer research last Sunday and ordered a new Artillery Sidewinder X1 due to arrive in 6 days.

Although I have a good amount of experience with PLA in my Makerbot, I have no experience or understand the software and file
process outside of Makerbot.
The Artillery printer says it can accept OBJ or STL files via the USB stick. Watching associated YouTube videos, I don't see any slicer options in its operation menu.
How does this work? For example do I need a slicer program in my PC to create a file and include that on my USB stick for the printer?
Also, I avoid using Window$ and choose Linux OpenSuse (Similar to Fedora, RedHat RPM). Can anyone recommend software?
I have about 6 days to research this before my new and exciting printer arrives.
Thanks in advance.
GrueMaster
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-17, Hictop CR-10S

Re: Questions from a new but experienced printer

Post by GrueMaster »

... I avoid using Window$ and choose Linux ...