Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

I need some help.
I have a Hictop 3DP08 printer about 3 years old with 8mm x 1.25 axis screws and end-stop switches.
Everything was going fine until I updated the firmware. Now I print an 1" x 1" x .5" tall cube.
I get a 1" x 1" x .125" tall cube. What's up with my Z Axis?
Thanks for any help.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

You will need to adjust the configuration.h file

// Z Axis 3200, / 1.25mm pitch leadscrew = 200*16 /1.25 = 2560 :: (STEPS_PER_REVOLUTION_Z / PITCH_OF_Z_ROD)
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT { 80, 80, 2560, 94.4962144 }

What firmware and version have you chosen, as I have most Marlin versions configured and could assist you in your configuration if needed.

When you flash new firmware you should finish with by sending via a terminal connected to the 3D Printer.
M502 - Restore firmware defaults
M500 - Save Setting

Then this can be used to temporally set using the LCD by adjusting Z-Steps per/mm to 2560
Last edited by Roberts_Clif on April 14th, 2019, 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

Thank you so much for your help. This is the firmware that I downloaded from their website.
Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398.cpp.hex
I have a question. How do you flash the firmware? I was loading the firmware through Cura. Is this the correct wat to do it?
I have no idea how to do this?
"When you flash new firmware you should finish with by sending via a terminal connected to the 3D Printer."
M502 - Restore firmware defaults
M500 - Save Setting
Thanks Again...
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

The software on the Hictop Web Site is not configured for your 3DP08 3D Printer with 8 x 1.25 lead-screws.
It is configured for the T8-8 Lead Screws designated by the 398 in the filenames.

You can change the source code version " Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1 " to compile and work.

In the Configuration.h file of Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1.
By changing this line
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {80,80,398,94.4962144}
to
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {80,80,2560,94.4962144}

To do this you will need the Arduino IDE 1.0.5 compiler, Or you could upgrade to a newer Marlin version since you are going to flash anyway.
As you have already installed the Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398.cpp.hex firmware to your 3DP08.

OR You could do this for a EEprom fix, this only saves to temp storage, If you do a reset to defaults it you revert to firmware defaults.
From your 3DP08 LCD locate the Z-Steps per/mm then you can change the number from 398 to 2560.
This will take a while as the encoder changes the numbers very slowly with a lot a turns of the encoder wheel.
It is in one of the configurations sub menus, then select Store Settings to save this new setting.
This will change the T8-8 lead-screw config to the older 8 x 1.25 all-thread lead-screw settings...
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

If you have any questions what so ever, Post before re-flashing. We will be here to help you get to whatever Marlin version you decide upon.
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

First of THANKS so much for your help. You have helped me more in the last 24 hours than in 2 weeks of emailing tech support.
The Arduino software will not open my firmware. It says it needs an .ino file. My firmware is .hex. So I'm stuck. And I'm
afraid that I'm going mess up things even worse.

This is the Marlin firmware that I downloaded: Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398.cpp.hex I understand that the "398" means lead screws.

Does anyone have the an old copy of the original firmware that I could just load?
Or where do I download the firmware with an .ino extension.

Thanks Again!
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

You miss understood.

Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1 Is not a hex file Contents of file.
Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_2560_E1.jpg

This is Hictop web Link
https://www.hic3dprinter.com/pages/firmware

Select bottom download
Web Link.jpg
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

I have a 3DP11 and a 3DP12 Hictop, Every version of Marlin I have configured will work on your 3D Printer.

It all Started here with Chip Lucks Configuration for Marlin Thank You Chip.

And have upgraded every release of Marlin 1.1.x and the New Marlin 2.0.x to work with the 3DP11 and the 3DP12 Hictop.
Marlin Firmware works with all Hictop controller I have Base v1.3, MPX.3 and the newest MPK v1.
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

OK, I have downloaded the file "Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398_E1.rar.
Now how do I open this file to make changes?

Thanks,
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

To do this you will need the Arduino IDE 1.0.5 compiler
There are videos on you tube here is one

The main parts you are interested in is changing the line below compiling and uploading to the 3D Printer.

When you load the File you will see tabs with the file names.
In the Configuration.h file of Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1.
By changing this line
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {80,80,398,94.4962144}
to
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {80,80,2560,94.4962144}

If you get an ERROR DO NOT UPLOAD to the 3D Printer
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

Could the Arduino file be 1.0.6 not 1.0.5? I see that 1.0.6 download when I go to the Arduino website using the link you posted.
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

OK, by watching the video my Arduino screen looks just like the one in the video. But I still can't find the .ino file to open.
I only get and .rar file when I download the Marlin firmware.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

You have never opened a RAR or ZIP file

Download Rar Extractor 7-Zip Install program right click RAR file extract to Folder.
7-Zip.jpg
EJC
Reactions:
Posts: 12
Joined: April 12th, 2019, 6:26 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop I3

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by EJC »

Well I think I'm making some progress.
I have the file opened in Arduino. But, I don't have the tabs across the top.
I only have 2 tabs across the top: sketch_apr13b and Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398_E1_

Any suggestions?

Thanks for your patience with me. As you can tell by now, I've never done any of this before.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Firmware for Hictop 3DP08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

This is OK We all have to learn.
An we learn sometimes from sources that we would have never thought possible...

OK. Question did it give you an error when loading the Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1_.ino

Is the .ino file in a directory that look like this " Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1_\Marlin_3DP08_3DP11_398___E1_.ino "
If the directory name has been changed or the filename has been changed it will not open it correctly...
Post Reply

Return to “Software and Firmware Discussion”