"Fault line" on print

Form 2, Form 3 , Elegoo Mars, ANYBUBIC Photon and much more....with the prices coming down, many 3D printers employing this technology are available to the masses!
piwi42
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Anycubic Proton Mono SE

"Fault line" on print

Post by piwi42 »

Hi, I'm a newbie to 3D printing and hope you can help with a fault which is happening on my prints.

Am trying to print a holder for a controller. Have designed the shape myself in Sketchup, but each time I try to print it there is a "fault line" all around the shape at the level where the front wall ends.
Print1.jpg
There is a noticeable indentation of the back face just below the fault line (as shown in this photo).
Print2.jpg

I printed a scaled down version of the shape in case, by coincidence, there was a fault with the screw rod at that level, but the fault is always at the level where the front wall ends, irrespective of the height of this level.
Print3.jpg
Also, the print below the fault line is rougher to the touch, as shown in the photos. The back face above the fault line is smooth and flat.

Any ideas what could be causing this and how I can prevent it please?

Printer: Anycubic Photon Mono SE with "Wham Bam" flexible plate attached
Resin: Elegoo Standard Grey
CAD: Sketchup
(The shape is made up of simple rectangles. Base is laid first then the back, sides and front are built on top, each as a single rectangle.
On the front, the full height pieces on the edge were built first, then the gap between them closed with the lower-level front wall).
Prep: Chitubox was used to position the model on build plate and to re-scale the model for the test print.
( The shape was positioned with its base on the build plate).
Photon Workshop was then used to slice the model.
(There is no visible distortion at the fault line when looking at the individual slices in Photon Workshop).
Print Settings: I used the default ones in Photon Workshop.