Any way to back up existing firmware?

Printer firmware discussion
kharrisma
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Creality Ender 3

Any way to back up existing firmware?

Post by kharrisma »

Hi Forum Folke,

First post here. I'm still fairly new to 3D printing, and I don't deal with coding in any way, so apologies if this is an idiotic question.

Creality Ender 3 printer. 4.2.2 control board. Manual bed leveling. Single Z stepper (changing to dual soon.)

Is there any way to back up my existing firmware before installing new firmware, in the event that something goes sideways, or I end up with a partially or fully non-functional printer? I always do a full backup of my PC before making any system changes and I'd like to be able to extend this practice to my printer as well.

I ask because I want to make a change to the basic configuration of the machine; specifically, I want to extend the travel limit of the Y axis by about 25 or 30 mm. I've already installed a hardware-based 'auto-off" feature, using a normally-open momentary switch to start the printer, a double-pole, double-throw 24 volt relay, and a roller-activated micro-switch to interrupt power to the relay, which completely interrupts all power to the machine. It's OFF.

It works fine, except for one thing: the gcode at the end of a print (usually) contains the command: "G1 X0 Y235 ;Present print." Y235 seems to be the maximum distance the bed is 'allowed' to travel. I used that figure to work out placement of the printed micro-switch mount, and the printed trip cam that opens the microswitch. Worked fine... except that the bed gets run out to 235 at other times as well, like when the printer prints it's initial stripe up the left side of the bed to prime the nozzle prior to beginning the print. When it reaches the full bed extension and *would* begin the print, it also trips the switch and the power shuts down. Oops...